Region Plan

Two women walk through a train station in Newcastle

We’re striving for a globally competitive city region providing better jobs, housing, education, health and lifestyle opportunities.

The current Region Plan is The Metropolis of Three Cities, which was produced in 2018. This Region Plan sets the future direction of the Greater Sydney region.

We’re currently working towards the next Region Plan, the Six Cities Region Plan, which will be informed by the recent Six Cities Region Discussion Paper.

Current Region Plan

Developing the next Region Plan

Thornton suburban area Penrith

What is strategic planning?

The Commission sits at the centre of government, industry and community to coordinate strategic planning for the region.

Our role is to link local councils, community and state agencies to facilitate infrastructure planning, funding and delivery. Key to this process is the Region Plan and City Plans.

Six Cities Region explained

The Six Cities Region is Australia’s first global-city region. It is a network of connected cities in Australia that lift each other up, while celebrating and leveraging each city’s unique character and strengths.

The Six Cities Region comprises the Lower Hunter and Greater Newcastle City, Central Coast City, Illawarra-Shoalhaven City, Western Parkland City, Central River City and Eastern Harbour City. It is based on local government boundaries and feedback from local stakeholders.