New City Commissioners join Greater Cities Commission


The Greater Cities Commission has today announced three new City Commissioners to lead the planning for the Six Cities Region for the next four years.

These appointments come at an important time for the Commission as it launches its Six Cities Discussion Paper and embarks on intensive engagement to inform the Six Cities Region Plan and City Plans to be released from 2024.

Mr Matt Endacott, the Hon. Robyn Parker and Ms Jacki Johnson have been appointed to serve the Lower Hunter and Greater Newcastle City, the Central Coast City and the Illawarra Shoalhaven City, respectively.

The Greater Cities Commission has been charged with creating Australia's first global city region, delivering global economic scale and local liveability.

City Commissioners are the connective tissue between state and local government. They facilitate the conversations and empower stakeholders to set common goals for their city. As key holders of the relationships within their cities, City Commissioners ensure connectivity between the Six Cities Region Plan and their City Plans, and that the ground up work done by local government and other entities informs into the City Plans.

The Commissioners were appointed following an extensive public recruitment process involving representatives of all the constituent local governments in each City.

Chief Commissioner Geoff Roberts AM said: "I am thrilled that Matt Endacott, Robyn Parker and Jacki Johnson will be taking such important positions with the Commission, bringing their extensive expertise as we undertake the important work of shaping Australia's first global city region. I'd also like to acknowledge the important role that local councils played in the selection process."

The Commissioners will commence four-year terms commencing September 2022. They join City Commissioners Deborah Dearing (Eastern Harbour City) and Peter Poulet (Central River City) and John Lydon (Economic Commissioner), Meg McDonald (Environment Commissioner) and Natalie Walker (Social Commissioner).

"Unified in their deep commitment to the people of their cities, this cohort of outstanding Commissioners will ensure the Six Cities vision is responsive, contemporary and at the leading edge of city shaping, with local liveability for the people of their cities at the top of their agenda," Mr Roberts said.

Recruitment of the Western Parkland City Commissioner is underway, with the conclusion of Ms Liz Dibbs' term in September.

Explore the Commissioners biographies.