English Dutch French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Greater Cities Commission to deliver six cities region

Explore the plans

  • Infrastructure
  • Liveability
  • Productivity
  • Sustainability
  • All
A city supported by infrastructureInfrastructure
A collaborative cityCollaboration
A city for peoplePeople
Housing the cityHousing
A city of great placesPlaces
A well connected cityConnected
Jobs and skills for the cityJobs
A city in its landscapeLandscape
An efficient cityEfficiency
A resilient cityResilience


News | In a landmark move, the Greater Cities Commission will bring together the cities of the Lower Hunter and Greater Newcastle, Central Coast, Greater Sydney and Illawarra-Shoalhaven to create a globally competitive city region.

Chief Commissioner Geoff Roberts AM said the passing of the Greater Cities Commission Bill 2022 signalled a new era for strategic city planning in Australia.

“We are well and truly in the era of the global city region – in bringing six cities together, we are putting our communities at the heart of a globally facing region,” Mr Roberts said.

“This will mean more people in the six cities working within 30 minutes of where they live, increased access to homes that families can afford and more equal access to higher education and training opportunities.

“The move will deliver economic and lifestyle benefits to millions of people, supporting growth with fit-for-life infrastructure and allowing more people to enjoy our enviable waterways and natural environment.”

Chief Executive Elizabeth Mildwater said the Commission would focus on bringing stakeholders together to collaborate on future planning for a new city region that benefits local communities.

“Each of the six cities will build on its own signature strengths and character. We’ll keep what’s working well today in each city and supercharge this with the combined power that comes with being part of the larger world-class city region,” Ms Mildwater said.