English Dutch French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Appointment of Greater Sydney Commissioners

Explore the plans

  • Infrastructure
  • Liveability
  • Productivity
  • Sustainability
  • All
A city supported by infrastructureInfrastructure
A collaborative cityCollaboration
A city for peoplePeople
Housing the cityHousing
A city of great placesPlaces
A well connected cityConnected
Jobs and skills for the cityJobs
A city in its landscapeLandscape
An efficient cityEfficiency
A resilient cityResilience
News | Premier Gladys Berejiklian has appointed the Greater Sydney Commissioners who will lead the organisation to deliver the NSW Government's vision for the city's future.

The appointments follow an independent recruitment process, advice from all Greater Sydney local councils and Cabinet endorsement.

The new Commission membership is:

  • Chief Commissioner, Lucy Turnbull AO
  • Deputy Chief Commissioner, Economic Commissioner and Chief Coordinator Western Parkland City, Geoff Roberts
  • Environment Commissioner, Roderick Simpson
  • Social Commissioner, Helen O'Loughlin
  • North District and Eastern City District Commissioner, Dr Deborah Dearing
  • South District Commissioner, Morris Iemma
  • Central City District Commissioner, Peter Poulet
  • Western City District Commissioner, Elizabeth Dibbs

The Commission recognises and thanks our outgoing Commissioners, Heather Nesbitt, Social Commissioner and Maria Atkinson AM, Eastern City District Commissioner. Both Heather and Maria have played an integral role in the Commission's significant achievements to date. Their tireless commitment to ensuring the brightest possible future for Greater Sydney has enabled the Commission to deliver five District Plans and A Metropolis of Three Cities - Greater Sydney Region Plan, now adopted by the NSW Government.

For more information on our Commissioners, please visit https://www.greatercities.au/who-we-are.