English Dutch French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Judging underway for talented city makers

Explore the plans

  • Infrastructure
  • Liveability
  • Productivity
  • Sustainability
  • All
A city supported by infrastructureInfrastructure
A collaborative cityCollaboration
A city for peoplePeople
Housing the cityHousing
A city of great placesPlaces
A well connected cityConnected
Jobs and skills for the cityJobs
A city in its landscapeLandscape
An efficient cityEfficiency
A resilient cityResilience
News | Judging is underway for the Greater Sydney Commission's inaugural planning awards.

Judging is underway for the Greater Sydney Commission's inaugural planning awards.

Greater Sydney Planning Awards panel members seated at a table

Meeting of the Greater Sydney Planning Awards panel, (l to r) Dr Deborah Dearing, David Borger, Dillon Kombumerri, Gary White, Kate Zambelli and Marjorie Ferguson

The planning awards, which acknowledges and celebrates the great projects being undertaken across the Greater Sydney Region, comprise six categories:

  • Project team of the year;
  • Great community led project;
  • Great new place or live or work;
  • Great integrated planning project;
  • Great plan; and
  • The Chief Commissioner's award for research and innovation.

Chief Commissioner Lucy Turnbull said nominations were a good cross section from local government, community organisations, universities, the development industry and State Government agencies. And the spread of projects covered each of the six Districts.

"We have been impressed with such good quality nominations," Lucy said. "I thank all those who entered the awards as we are keen to showcase and promote good design and new ideas that improve peoples' lives."

While the Chief Commissioner will judge her award for research and innovation, judges for the other five categories are:

  • Kate Zambelli - 2016 Lendlease Bradfield Scholarship Winner. Kate is a Bachelor of Architecture and Environment student at the University of Sydney and won this year's Bradfield Urbanisation Scholarship for Transport Orientated Developments, also known as TODs. TODs house 'autonomous hover drones' which are driverless cars that travel through the air, vertical farms and solar glass windows for energy and power.
  • Dillon Kombumerri - Acting Principal Architect at NSW Government Architects Office and Adjunct Professor at University of Sydney. Dillon is an award winning architect who has focused on addressing the disadvantages faced by indigenous communities. He has extensive experience lecturing nationally and internationally and is a renowned commentator. 
  • David Borger - Western Sydney Director, Sydney Business Chamber. David is a former Lord Mayor of Parramatta and State Government Minister with a strong background and focus on urban design.
  • Gary White - Chief Planner, Department of Planning and Environment. Gary has 40 years of planning experience in both the public and private sectors. In his current role he provides expert advice on major projects and plans. He has held other senior planning positions including City Planner for Ipswich City Council, Deputy Director-General for Queensland's Department of Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning and later the Department's first Government Planner.
  • Deborah Dearing - North District Commissioner, Greater Sydney Commission. Deborah has over 30 years of experience in urban design, strategic land-use planning, heritage conservation, affordable housing and property development in both the public and private sectors. She has received numerous prestigious awards and is a member of the NSW Heritage Council.
  • Marjorie Ferguson - Immediate Past President, NSW Division of the Planning Institute of Australia. Marjorie has held senior roles in local and State governments and has in-depth knowledge and experience in development and planning, policy development and project delivery.

Winners of the six awards will be announced in February 2017.

Related News & Media

Media Release | Winners announced for inaugural Greater Sydney Planning Awards
News | Greater Sydney Planning Awards celebrate the best