English Dutch French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Awards celebrate bold city making

Explore the plans

  • Infrastructure
  • Liveability
  • Productivity
  • Sustainability
  • All
A city supported by infrastructureInfrastructure
A collaborative cityCollaboration
A city for peoplePeople
Housing the cityHousing
A city of great placesPlaces
A well connected cityConnected
Jobs and skills for the cityJobs
A city in its landscapeLandscape
An efficient cityEfficiency
A resilient cityResilience
News | The Commission is inviting community groups, local authorities, developers, public agencies and others to showcase projects in its inaugural Greater Sydney Planning Awards.

Chief Executive Sarah Hill said: "The awards are designed to assist in promoting good practice planning that leads to better quality design and more liveable communities.

"At the Commission we have strong objectives that guide our work. We are looking for entries that address those objectives."

These objectives include:

  • Integration of social, economic and environmental considerations with regard to the principles of ecologically sustainable development,
  • The alignment of government infrastructure decision-making with land use planning,
  • The supply of housing, including affordable housing,
  • Encouraging development that is resilient and takes into account natural hazards,
  • The ongoing improvement in productivity, liveability and environmental quality, and
  • Increased opportunity for public involvement and participation in environmental planning and assessment in the Greater Sydney Region.

"We want to celebrate bold city making and promote the value of planning."

The six award categories are:

  • Project team of the year
  • Great community led project
  • Great new place to live and/ or work
  • Great integrated planning project
  • Great plan
  • The Chief Commissioner's Award for Research and Innovation.

Nominations are now open and will close at 5pm on 18 November 2016. Winners in each of the six categories will be announced in February 2017.